Spanish teacher Seaman shortlisted for Kansas Teacher of the Year


TOPEKA, Kansas (WIBW) – A high school Spanish teacher at Seaman High School is in the running for Kansas Teacher of the Year.

The Kansas Department of Education has said the 2022 Kansas Teacher of the Year will be named in an awards program on Saturday, September 25 at 4 p.m. at the Wichita Marriott Hotel, 9100 E. Corporate Hills Dr.

According to the KSDE, chosen from more than 130 entries, the 2022 finalists are:

  • Amber Carithers – Teacher at Hutchinson High School (Hutchinson USD 308)
  • Susanne Stevenson – Fourth grade teacher at Beeson Elementary School (Dodge City USD 443)
  • Lisa Martinez – High School Spanish Teacher at Seaman High School (Seaman USD 345)
  • Megan O’Neill – Fourth grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School (Ottawa USD 290)
  • Natalie Johnson-Berry – High School Teacher at Shawnee Mission North High School (Shawnee Mission USD 512)
  • Amanda Ketterling – Elementary school teacher at Bonner Springs Elementary (Bonner Springs USD 204)
  • Kristin Salazar – Secondary Commerce and CTE Teacher at Eisenhower High School (Goddard USD 265)
  • Laurie Thisius – Fourth grade teacher at Cheney Primary School (Cheney USD 268)

The ministry said several dignitaries will be at the ceremony, including Kansas Education Commissioner Dr Randy Watson; Jim Porter, president of the Kansas State Board of Education; other members of the State Board of Education; business representatives; and veteran members of the Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

The event will be broadcast live from 5 p.m. on Saturday, September 25. To watch the live stream, click HERE.

Copyright 2021 WIBW. All rights reserved.